Landmarks Association of St. Louis

2025 Spring Tours: Preservation Month

The Landmarks Association of St. Louis 2025 Spring Tours

 

 

2025 Spring Tours and Events

Reservations Required

 

REGISTER

 

The Reawakening of a Giant: The Butler Brothers Building Reimagined

Date: Saturday, May 3, 2025
Time
: 11:00 - 12:30 PM
Location
: 1717 Olive Street | St. Louis, MO 63103
Parking
:  Street Parking
Tickets
: $15 members, $20 non-members

 

A century-old warehouse reborn as a vibrant residential community, the Butler Brothers Building, constructed in 1906, was once a state-of-the-art distribution hub. After sitting vacant for nearly three decades, it faced an uncertain future. Located in St. Louis’s Downtown West neighborhood, its sheer scale, deep floor plates, and historic integrity presented both challenges and opportunities for revitalization. Trivers Architecture embraced the complexity of this adaptive reuse project, carefully balancing preservation with transformation. The result is The Victor, a dynamic residential community that breathes new life into the structure while celebrating its architectural legacy.

 

*Tour begins in the lobby on the 18th Street side

 

REGISTER

 

Saved from the Wrecking Ball—An In-Progress Visit to 3221-3225 Olive Street

Date: Thursday, May 8, 2025
Time
: 5:30 - 6:30 PM
Location
: 3221 Olive Street | St. Louis, MO 63103
Parking
:  Street Parking
Tickets
: $10 members, $15 non-members

 

Formerly slated for demolition, these two buildings are being rehabilitated by the Kranzberg Arts Foundation with support from Landmarks’ revolving loan fund. The general commercial building at 3225 boasts a stately façade embellished with white terra cotta. The building at 3225 was constructed c. 1889 as the western branch of famed Restaurateur Tony Faust’s “Fulton Market”. This tour includes a chance to see the interiors of both buildings while learning about their history and future.

 

REGISTER

 

Link Auction Gallery Tour

Date: Saturday, May 10th, 2025
Time
: 10:00 - 11:30 AM
Location
: 5000 Washington Place | St. Louis, MO 63108 (at Kingshighway)
Parking
:  Reserved lot at the rear (west side) of the building.
Tickets
: $15 members, $20 non-members

 

Completed in 1902, this Classical Revival building was designed by renowned architect Theodore Link, who also designed the nearby Wednesday Club, 2nd Presbyterian Church, and Union Station.  An irreplaceable component of a collection of institutional buildings collectively known as the Holy Corners Historic District, St. Johns is known today as “The Link Auction Gallery.” The building has been lovingly preserved and is now used as a full-service auction house. We will explore the building, including visits to the beautiful chapel and interior courtyard.

[Formerly St. John's Methodist Church] 

 

REGISTER

Hotel Jefferson

Date: Tuesday, May 20, 2025
Time
: 11:00-12:00 PM and 12:30-1:30 PM
Location
: 415 N. Tucker Boulevard | St. Louis, MO 63101
Parking
:  Street Parking
Tickets
: $15 members, $20 non-members 

 

Designed by the storied firm of Barnett, Haynes & Barnett, the Hotel Jefferson was completed in 1904 to serve an anticipated surge in visitors for the World’s Fair. In 1928, a large addition was added to the west side of the building, doubling the hotel’s capacity and adding one of the first mid-rise parking garages in the city. The building operated as a hotel for 70 years before being converted into an assisted living facility that operated from 1977 until the early 2000s, when the last residents departed. Since that time, the building has been at the forefront of the downtown redevelopment agenda.

Today, Alterra Worldwide is concluding a top-to-bottom rehabilitation of the grand old building as apartments, an AC Hotel by Marriott, and multiple service, restaurant, and retail spaces. Come see behind the scenes of this soon-to-be reopened landmark and hear from its developers about their vision.

 

* THE BUILDING IS AN ACTIVE CONSTRUCTION SITE. HARD HATS (PROVIDED) AND STURDY, CLOSED-TOED SHOES ARE REQUIRED. THE TOUR INCLUDES STAIRS, BUT THERE IS AN OPERATIONAL CONSTRUCTION ELEVATOR.

* meet at US bank parking lot (corner of Tucker and locust)

 

 

REGISTER

Franz Arzt House Tour

Date: Saturday, May 31st, 2025
Time
: 10:00 AM, 11:00 AM, 1:00 PM, 2:00 PM (45 min tours)
Location
: 2322 S. 12th St. | St. Louis, MO 63104
Parking
:  Street Parking
Tickets
: $15 members, $20 non-members

 

Constructed c. 1876, the Dr. Franz Arzt House is one of the best examples of Italianate residential architecture in St. Louis. The home has been painstakingly restored over the past eight years by owners Joy and Ron Christensen after a long period of disinvestment. Come see the rebirth of one of St. Louis’ 19th-century architectural treasures, including the amazing conservatory that has been fastidiously restored based on historical photographs and the unique grotto constructed for Dr. Arzt’s renowned botanical collections. A highlight of the tour is the artificial cave system beneath the home constructed nearly 150 years ago.

 

* PARTICIPANTS WILL NEED TO NAVIGATE FIVE SETS OF STAIRS IN A TIMELY MANNER—PLEASE WEIGH PARTICIPATION ACCORDINGLY.

 

 

Tickets Instructions:

  1. Visit our ticket page at TicketTailor.com to view all available activities.

  2. Select your tour date and time, then click "Tickets."

  3. Membership Discount: Click "Use Ticket Access Code" (located behind the lock icon at the top of the pop-up) to apply your membership discount. Members have recieved an email with this year's access code.